Red Beans & Rice w/ Sausage

at least I am pretty sure how I make this …I dont have a real recipe so I am hoping I got this right …will tweak it again after dinner!

-3 pkgs sausage (I like echrich farm smoked sausage with skin) you can cut these in rounds but i slit them in half then those in half and then chop them so they are about 1/4- 1/2 inch pieces
-3 cans of small red beans:   (or dried if you prefer)
1 rinsed and drained
1 with bean juice
1 after draining add water to top
(can be found at walmart or in the spanish sections of your grocery stores)
-1 onion finely chopped
-1 teaspoon spike seasoning
– 2- 3 shakes of cumin powder
-2 shakes of cayenne pepper
-1/2 teaspoon old bay seasoning

So its really simply add all the beans and juices, to the pot, saute the onion ( in another pot of course) till soft, add spices and the onion to the pot of beans next you brown the sausage in the pan in batches, deglaze the pan after browning(get them nice and brown adds lots of flavor) the sausage with some of the liguid from the bean pot…. and pour back into the bean pot!

Thats about it …we serve it with regular rice I dont like white with this dish and cornbread is a nice add on! This is my mother in laws recipe and I have tweaked it to our tastes ❤ Jamie O’Flaherty

Leave a Reply

