Method(s) to Corned Beef

Anyone else who has a different strategy, please add it to this as a comment, and I will add it to this Post after my “method” 😉

 Right off the bat, I believe that sometimes you can just buy a bad corned beef. So, if you have one that doesn’t turn out, don’t lose hope and try again! Also, corned beef is always better when you spend a little more per pound. Unless it’s the post-St Paddy’s Day sale and it’s super cheap at your store, then don’t let the low price stop you 😉

 I have a blue roast pan with a lid that I use. I place my corned beed in there, fat side up, and sprinkle the little seasoning packet over it. I fill the pan with water until the water is level with the top of the meat and add three chicken boullion cubes. Cover with the lid and pop it in the oven at 300 for 3-4 hours total, depending on how many pounds. An hour before serving, I add my potatoes (add carrots too if you like that), recover and put back in the oven. Then 15-20 minutes before serving, add cabbage. The idea is to not have watered down cabbage, but that it is cooked SOME.

 *Another thing is, my mom does this in a huge pot on the stove. She puts a few corned beefs in the pot, covers them with water and seasoning packets, brings to boil and then simmers for a few hours. Then, like me, adds potatoes an hour before, and cabbage 20 minutes before. If you do this method, turn up your heat so it’s not quite a boil but more than a simmer.

 Hope this helps! ❤ Joanna Schaper

Leave a Reply

